打印 上一主题 下一主题

【有奖征文】My internship at National Geographic

[复制链接]

小学生

跳转到指定楼层
楼主
发表于 2013-8-15 11:38:46 | 只看该作者 |只看大图 回帖奖励 |倒序浏览 |阅读模式
本帖最后由 白色机器人Eva 于 2013-8-15 12:37 编辑

Many people asked me how I feel working for National Geographic Society.

Do you take pictures a lot of the lions, tigers or bears in Africa?Do you go to the forest in India a lot to document the behaviors of the birds? Do you do a lot of graphic design for the magazine? Do you swim with the sharks and dolphins in the ocean?

It seems that shooting pictures of thewildlife is a stereotype of National Geographic employees. I might disappoint you because I am not as cool as you imagine. But you might be interested in how an internship can change my perspective of the world.

1.   Background
I was an exchange student and graduated with a Bachelor’s degree in Geography from a decent university in Midwest. My major is not as popular and practical as Computer Science and Engineering. It is not easy to get an internship or job in this season, no matter what majors you are in. Trust me. Everyone has a hard time before they settle down in one job or internship. For the geography internship program at Nat Geo there are around 7- 9 positions each semester, 21-27 per year. They received more than 900 applications for the program! ( I did not know so many students major in geography before this fact..) One entry level position for organizing the documents of the explorers program in the office received more than 255 applications when the position has open for one week. You have to be driven enough until you reach your goal.